Members Directory | Contact Us | Home
 Meeting Reports
Printer Friendly Format  Printer Friendly Format     Send to a Friend  Send to a Friend    RSS Feed  RSS Feed
Board Meeting Minutes
May 11, 2017

MAY 11, 2017

Call to Order:  President Steve Rayne called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

Prayer and Pledge of Allegiance:  Nelson Zoch

Present:  Ashby, Barnard, Beale, Blair, Elkin, Gaines, Kivela, Potell, Rayne, St.John, Toth, Walschburger, Zoch 
Absent:   Miller

Sergeant at Arms:  Robert Crane 

Parliamentarian:  Ed Aldridge

Determination of Quorum: A quorum was present.

Treasurer’s Report and Minutes of Previous Meeting: 
Motion by Ashby, 2nd by Barnard to approve minutes and treasurer’s report as printed.  Voice Vote.  Motion Carried.

President – Steve Rayne:
HPD Chief Art Acevedo will attend the general membership meeting today.
Chief Acevedo indicated he would like to become a HPROA Associate Member.
Motion by Kivela, 2nd by Walschburger to waive the one year $50 Associate Membership Fee for HPD Chief Art Acevedo. Voice Vote.  Motion Carried.
Police Week Memorial Services and Reception will be Friday, May 19, 2017 from 5:00- 9:00pm at the Houston Police Officers Union Building.  Everyone is invited to attend.
The annual HPROA Board of Directors Election will be held at the August general membership meeting and followed by a complementary luncheon.
Board Positions up for election this year are President, First Vice President, Treasurer and Board Positions 2, 4, 6.  Anyone interested in running for one of the positions should contact Nominating Chairman Bob Shields, 713-645-8556, before 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, June 7, 2017.   Candidates for each position will be announced at the June general membership meeting and nominations taken from the floor.  Election ballots will then be printed and mailed in July.
Election Chairman E. J. Smith and his committee will count the returned election ballots at the August meeting and the newly elected board members announced.
There will be a Burial Fund meeting following todays general membership meeting.  The Burial Fund is in need of additional income.  Discussion regarding placing a line on the HPROA Membership Renewal form for voluntary donations to the Burial Fund in an amount of their choosing.
The Family Assistance Committee will hold a meeting following the general membership meeting.  
TMPA Field Representative Tamara Spencer will speak briefly at the general membership meeting.

Discussion regarding moving the Houston Reunion to April so there will be 6 months between reunions,  
The Southeast Station, 8300 Mykawa, will hold a ceremony Friday, May 19, 2017 at 1:00pm dedicating a Wall of Honor for Police Officers Killed In the Line Of Duty who ever served at the station.  The Officers to be honored at the dedication are Louis Kuba, Robert W. Lee, Jerry Riley, Richard Calhoun, Claude Ronnie Beck, Charles Clark, Bruno Soloeski, J. W. Harris, George Rojas, and Gary Gryder.  
HPOU Board Member Officer Tim Whitaker is a designated Texas Commissioner On Law Enforcement.
HPD Internal Affairs handled 1,088 complaints last year.  Citizens filed 257 complaints. 828 complaints against officers were filed by HPD or other police officers.
Executive Director – Bill Elkin
HPOPS at $4.47B.  335 retirements so far this year: 19 scheduled retirements in May and 28 in June.  HPOPS fiscal year ends June 30th.
SB 2190 replaced HB 43. Representatives Huberty, Bohac and Schofield attached several fire amendments. The Bill was sent back to Senate for conformation or rejection.  Conference Committee members are Representatives Dan Flynn, Garnet Coleman, Armando Walley, Anna Hernandez and Jim Murphy.  Senate members are Joan Huffman, Jane Nelson, Kelly Hancock, Charles Schwertner and Carlos Uresti.  Legislation needs 3 votes from each of the Chambers to pass out of Committee.
HPROA had a good turn out in Austin on Monday, May 1st and about half as many on Saturday, May 6th.  Fireman packed the gallery on Saturday and Monday outnumbering police officers.  
Attended the Police Candlelight Memorial service at the Capitol on Sunday, May 30th.  

New Business:
Approved seventeen  (17) new Regular Members:
Timothy J. Allen
Julie Anderson
George T. Buenik
David M. Chambers
Victor Cozma
David Eagan
Mark Eisenman
Timothy D. Galligan
Michael E, Harris
Michael Hoesel
Stanley Holmes
Jeannie Miller
Ernest Mireles
Charles Nelson
Sharon Pouncy
Kathy E. Sasser
Eddy H. Woodard

Motion by Beale, 2nd by Toth to adjourn meeting at 9:20 a.m.
Sue Gaines
Board Secretary
Previous Articles by Date:
ߦ   Board Meeting Minutes
ߦ   Board Meeting Minutes
Printer Friendly Format  Printer Friendly Format    Send to a Friend  Send to a Friend    RSS Feed  RSS Feed
© 2017 Houston Police Retired Officers Association. All rights reserved.