Members Directory | Contact Us | Home
  Posted on: Thursday, December 13, 2018
Printer Friendly Format  Printer Friendly Format     Send to a Friend  Send to a Friend    RSS Feed  RSS Feed
Business Meeting Minutes
December 13, 2018

Recent Articles:
12/13/18   Business Meeting Minutes
11/14/18   Business Meeting Minutes
10/14/18   Business Meeting Minutes
9/17/18   Business Meeting Minutes

Search Archives:
DECEMBER 13, 2018

Call to Order: President Steve Rayne called meeting to order at 9:50 a.m.

Prayer and Pledge of Allegiance:  Jim Ashby

Welcomed New and First Time Members

Minutes of Previous Meeting:
Motion by Nelson Foehner, 2nd by Fred Walschburger to approve the November Business Minutes as printed.  Voice Vote. Motion Carried.

President – Steve Rayne
Wished everyone a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Suspend Regular Order of Business

Rodney Hill – Candidate for HPOPS Retired Trustee Position #4
Joined HPD in 1976 and retired in 2016. HPOPS has evolved and gotten better: in 1976 pensions were 30% at 20 years, 2% per year thereafter and could only get it at age 50.  
Worked with Legislatures as an HPD Officer on police ability to track cell phone activity.
Wants to keep pension viable for new, current and retired officers.   

Scott Sisco – Candidate for HPOPS Retired Trustee Position #4
Joined HPD in 1986, retired after 23 years to be a Harris County Prosecutor.  Has been an attorney for 25 years.  Represented HPD in Austin in 2009.
Attended the 2017 pension battle in Austin.  Very concerned about the pension corridor and other changes HPOPS agreed to follow.

James Bollig – Author who writes personal biographies gave a presentation.

Jim Kalinowski – Author of Balancing The Badge spoke.

Return to Regular Order of Business

President – Steve Rayne
Active officers participating in HPD “No Shave Month” raised $55,000 for pediatric cancer research.
Lateral entry to HPD changed from five to three years.
HPOU Badge and Gun begins on-line only publication with the January 2019 issue.
HPD Pistol Range Officer Cromwell stated big changes are coming.  Part of the range will close January thru March 2019.  Call before going to qualify.  Active Officers now have to qualify four times a year.
Error and Omission Insurance for the HPROA and Board of Directors is being investigated.
The Board endorsed Rodney Hill for HPOPS Retired Position.

Board accepted Bill Elkin’s resignation as HPROA Executive Director.
Elkin will chair the Legislative Committee.  
Anthon Kivela will be the new HPROA Executive Director effective January 1, 2019.
Kivela resigned from his Board Position 7 effective January 1, 2019.
Roy McDonald will fill vacant Board Position 7 for the remainder of Kivela’s term.  Roy resigned as Parliamentarian but will continue as Membership Chairman.
Thanked Bill Elkin for his twenty-one years of service to the HPROA.  There will be cake and conversation with Bill following the meeting.  

Executive Director – Bill Elkin
Thanked everyone for their support during his term as Executive Director.
HPOPS at $5.3B.  60 have retired this fiscal year with 2 scheduled in January.  
HPOPS run-off election will end at close of business December 28, 2018.  Voting may be online or by mail in paper ballot but not both.  Results will be announced December 31st.
COLA will come back to those under 70 automatically.
Josh McGee, the presiding officer of the Pension Review Board, is no longer employed by the Laura and Josh Arnold Foundation  
Legislation is being monitored.  505 bills have been filed in the House and 226 bills filed in the Senate.
Thank you notes were received from Greg Abbott, Garnet Coleman and Jim Murphy for political contributions.  
Thank you notes were received from the families of James Murphy, Clifford Simmons and Don Paige.

Treasurers Report – Ed Aldridge
No report.  Aldridge absent.

Retired Badge – Nelson Zoch
Current issue is in the mail. 
Always looking for new articles and anyone may submit an article. 
District Attorney Kim Ogg appointed a Special Prosecutor to look into the case of killed in the line of duty HPD Police Officer Charles Clark with the goal of getting the killer Alfred Brown exonerated.  A report has not been released at this time.

Membership Committee – Roy McDonald
1,786 members as of December 13th.  Goal is to maintain 1,800 plus members.  
The Board approved 3 new members and 2 associate members.  
Members may renew memberships with a credit card or make changes at any meeting.

Website Committee – Jim Ashby
23,014 visits to the website in November.
Retired Badge will be on the website as well as printed and mailed.  
Microsoft, IBM, IRS, etc. will not call on the telephone.  Hang up on these scammers.  Call Jim with any questions or help.
Contact Jim if you know anyone who would like to place an advertisement on the HPROA Website.  It is only $20 per month.
Contact Jim if you need the User Name and Password to the HPROA Membership Directory Website.  

Family Assistance Committee – Forrest Turbeville and Nelson Foehner
Please contact members of the FAC with any needs or concerns:
Nelson Foehner (281) 351-4669 Doug Bostock   (281) 890-7610
Forrest Turbeville (713) 319-5466 Ray Smith    (281) 731-1588
Ron Headley      (713) 253-5749 Pat Kainer    (281) 642-6645
Due to health issues Doug Bostock is resigning from the FAC.  
Chaplain Montgomery announced active Sergeant Paul Weido passed away. He served 28 years. 
Friends we lost in November were William W. Lundy, Clifford Simmons, Thomas H. Henning and Floyd W. Daigle.  We also lost Henry Chavez’ mother Carmen Chaves, Tommy Lero’s wife Dorothy Joann, and James B. Davis’ brother-in-law Jerry Green.  Our condolences to the families.

Entertainment Committee – 
The HPROA’s 25th Anniversary Reunion will be in Houston at the HPD Academy on Saturday, April 27, 2019. 
The Hill Country Reunion in Fredericksburg will be Saturday, October 5, 2019.
There will not be a Surviving Spouses Luncheon in 2019.  We will host a luncheon for Surviving Spouses every two years.  The next luncheon will be in 2020. 

PAC– Bob Barnard
Received $2,310 in contributions.  
Paid $1,075 in expenses.
Political contributions made to the campaigns of Steve Lee, Mike Knox, Gregg Travis and Michael Kubosh.    

Door Prizes:  
Jim St.John - $25
Jim Watkins - $25
Robb Furstenfeld - $25
Dudley Howden - $25
George Bamringer - Gingerbread House -
R. C. Gardner - Book & Cookies
Roy McDonald - Liquor Samples
Dennis Storemski - Wine and Cookies
Hulen Wiley - Wine and Cookies
J. B. Sweatt - Sports Illustrated Plaque

102 Members in attendance.
Business Minutes taken by Dorothy Ashby
Meeting adjourned at 11:10 am.

Sue Gaines
Board Secretary

Printer Friendly Format  Printer Friendly Format    Send to a Friend  Send to a Friend    RSS Feed  RSS Feed
© 2019 Houston Police Retired Officers Association. All rights reserved.